The FedEx Cup

Starting in 2007 the FedEx Cup will be awarded as the championship trophy for the PGA Tour. It is a season long points system that is reset for the final four tour events. The points leader after the final four events is the declared the champion winning $10 million of the $35 million prize money.

The Previous FedEx Cup Winners

The Previous FedEx Cup Winners





Tiger Woods

Phil Mickelson


Vijay Singh

Camilo Villegas


Tiger Woods

Steve Stricker


FedEx Cup

The PGA Tour season will now be divided into three parts, with the PGA Tour Regular Season (33 weeks), the PGA Tour Playoffs for the FedExCup (4 weeks) and the PGA Tour Fall Series to determine the final standings of positions 31-125.

The PGA Tour Regular season will consist of 36 events in 33 weeks from the beginning of January to the middle of August. Players accumulate FedExCup points based on final standings which determines their seeding for the FedExCup PGA Tour playoffs..

The PGA Tour playoffs for the FedEx Cup consists of four events between late-August and mid-September. These four events determine the winner of the FedExCup. In addition, the top 30 finishers are guaranteed exemption for the following year.

The PGA Tour Fall Series occurs between late September and early November. Consisting of of seven tournaments to finalize the following year's eligibility for players who do not finish in the top 30 of the FedExCup. Players vie for positions 31-125, based on final season earnings.

FedEx Cup points are distributed to all players earning official money with exception of those who are not PGA Tour members.

PGA Tour regular season events award 25,000 FedExCup points. The Masters, The Players Championship, U.S. Open, British Open and PGA Championship award 27,500 FedExCup points. The World Golf Championships events award 26,250 FedExCup points. Additional events played during the regular season will award 12,500 FedExCup points. Additional events are those that are played the same week as the World Golf Championships and British Open.

The PGA Tour playoffs for the FedExCup will feature a progressive cut through the first three events to determine the final 30 players who will qualify for The Tour Championship presented by Coca-Cola, where the FedExCup Champion will be determined. The Barclays opens the Playoffs with 144 players, followed by the Deutsche Bank Championship with 120 and the BMW Championship with 70. The playoff events are:

The Barclays New York
Deutsche Bank Championship Boston
BMW Championship Chicago
The Tour Championship presented by Coca-Cola Atlanta

All playoff events will award 50,000 total points. The final Playoff event, The Tour Championship presented by Coca-Cola, awards slightly more points per position due to the smaller 30-player field. The player with the overall points lead after the conclusion of the fourth playoff event is declared the FedExCup Champion.

The FedExCup will award a total of $35 million in bonus money at the conclusion of the Playoffs including $10 million to the FedExCup Champion, the largest single bonus payout in sports.