International Hockey League (IHL) (2007)

Additional Professional Hockey Pages on Rauzulu's Street

American Hockey League
Central Hockey League
East Coast Hockey League
International Hockey League (2007)
Southern Professional Hockey League


International Hockey League (IHL) (2007)


International Hockey League (IHL)
117 W. 4th Street
Rochester, MI 48307
(269) 492-3432


International Hockey League (IHL) (2007) History

International Hockey League (IHL) (2007)

The IHL was originally formed in 1991 as the Colonial Hockey League. It had teams in Brantford, Ontario; Detroit, Michigan; Flint, Michigan; St. Thomas, Ontario; and Thunder Bay, Ontario. As the ECHL moved westward (into Toledo, Dayton, and Peoria), the CoHL moved eastward, into places like the Adirondacks, Danbury, CT, Binghamton, NY, and Richmond, VA. During that expansion, the league was renamed the United Hockey League in 1997, before renaming itself the International Hockey League in 2007.

The name change was intended to evoke the original IHL (1945–2001), which had long-standing franchises in the Great Lakes region. The Fort Wayne Komets were a longstanding member of the original league. In addition, the Kalamazoo Wings and Flint Generals revived the names of the original Kalamazoo and Flint IHL teams.

On June 27, 2007, a dispersal draft was held among the six IHL teams, selecting players from the four 2006-2007 UHL franchises that are no longer part of the newly named league.

Colonial Hockey League (1991-1997) Seasons

1991     1992     1993     1994     1995     1996    

United Hockey League (1997-2006) Seasons

1997     1998     1999     2000     2001     2002     2003     2004     2005     2006    

International Hockey League (2007- ) Seasons

2007     2008     2009    

International Hockey League (IHL) (2007) Awards

International Hockey League (IHL) (2007) Awards and Trophies


International Hockey League (IHL) (2007) Team Directory

International Hockey League (IHL) (2007)

Bloomington PrairieThunder
318 W Washington, Suite 1NW
Bloomington, IL 61701
Phone: (309) 585-0507
Fax: (309) 585-0543
Website: Bloomington PrairieThunder

Bloomington PrairieThunder Seasons

Dayton Gems
1001 Shiloh Springs Rd
Dayton, Ohio 45415
Phone: (937) 275-7777
Fax: (937) 275-7783
Website: Dayton Gems

Dayton Gems Seasons

Flint Generals
3501 Lapeer Rd
Flint, MI 48503
Phone: (810) 744-0222
Fax: (810) 744-0208
Website: Flint Generals

Flint Generals Seasons

Fort Wayne Komets
1010 Memorial Way
Fort Wayne, IN 46805
Phone: (260) 483-0011
Fax: (260) 483-3899
Website: Fort Wayne Komets

Fort Wayne Komets Seasons

Muskegon Lumberjacks
470 W. Western Ave.
Muskegon, MI 49440
Phone: (231) 726-3879
Website: Muskegon Lumberjacks

Muskegon Lumberjacks Seasons

Port Huron Icehawks
701 McMorran Blvd.
Port Huron, MI 48060
Phone: 810-966-3800
Fax: 810-966-4800
Website: Port Huron Icehawks

Port Huron Icehawks Seasons

Quad City Mallards
1201 River Drive
Moline, IL 61265
Phone: (309)-277-1364
Website: Quad City Mallards

Quad City Mallards Seasons

International Hockey League (IHL) (2007)

The new IHL began its first season of play in the fall of 2007 and consisted of six teams: the Bloomington PrairieThunder, the Flint Generals, the Fort Wayne Komets, the Kalamazoo Wings, the Muskegon Fury, and the Port Huron Icehawks. One of the key focuses of the IHL Board of Governors and the League Office was to make on- and off-ice changes for the 2007-08 season to create a better experience for the fans. At the top of the list was and will continue to be an emphasis on strong ownership so that the fans can count on our member clubs being a long-term part of the IHL and on making the on-ice product much more physical and exciting.

The league recreated the Turner Cup as a tribute to the old IHL, awarding the cup to the league champion. Also revived with a new look was the Huber Trophy, awarded to the team with the best regular-season record.